Entranced by Namdapha – The Butterflies

Standard
Entranced by Namdapha – The Butterflies

Inside and Outside colors-Butterfly, Namdapha

After having read the news about the Jeypore Dehing Rain forest in the North East being the home for seven wild cat species,  North East forests were on the top of my travel list. So when I came to know that the BNHS programme for October 2012 was Namdapha National Park, Arunachal Pradesh, there was no way I could have missed it!

Although I knew that the cats were elusive, the idea of visiting a rain forest itself was enough to intrigue me. And the trip itself more than took my breath away. What awaited me in Namdapha Forest was a week full of no electricity, no mobile network and no frivolous luxury. Instead I had a week full of silent beautiful mountains, dancing rivers, cool breeze that sometimes blew sand in my face, moonlit nights, starry skies, foggy dawns and added to all this were the sweet and mysterious Jungle sounds…in short a week in Heaven. Somehow everytime I try to pen down my experience and memories of Namdapha, words fail me. So this is one blog post, that is probably going to have more pictures and less words all along.

Namdapha is an absolute delight for Butterfly lovers. The butterflies here are much larger and more colorful than the ones seen in the urban areas. Often the outer wing colors of the Butterfly are drab and the inner wing colors are gloriously beautiful. Here are some of the prettier ones that i managed to capture with my camera lens. I do not recall all of their names, but I will try and label as many as I can.

Butterfly, Namdapha

Color Sergeant Butterfly

Popinjay Butterfly

Dusky Diadem Butterfly

Common Map Butterfly

Common Maplet Butterfly

Jungle Glory Butterfly

Butterfly, Namdapha

Common Jester Butterfly

Red Base Jezebel Butterfly

Leopard Lacewing Butterfly

Butterfly, Namdapha

Butterfly, Namdapha

Butterfly, Namdapha

Butterfly, Namdapha

Butterfly, Namdapha

Butterfly, Namdapha

Orange Oakleaf Butterfly

Butterfly, Namdapha

Fluffy Tit Butterfly

Paris Peacock Butterfly

Dragontail Butterfly

13 responses »

  1. “a week full of no electricity, no mobile no network and no frivolous luxury. Instead I had a week full of silent beautiful mountains, dancing rivers, cool breeze that sometimes blew sand in my face, moonlit nights, starry skies, foggy dawns and added to all this were the sweet and mysterious Jungle sounds…in short a week in Heaven”.. too good..

  2. Lovely pictures of butterflies. They evoke pleasant memories of the Namdapha trip. You are a good photographer. Thanks for sharing the pics.

Leave a Reply

