The day it rained Coppersmith Barbets!

Standard
The day it rained Coppersmith Barbets!

Well, not literally rain rain ofcourse! But it sure was a first for me when I couldn’t click without getting atleast two Coppersmith Barbets in a frame!

Ujwal, my husband was the first to spot these pretty birds when I first bought my digital camera with superzoom lenses. It was one of those days when he had an off and sadly I was at work. He noticed the small green devils with cute patches of red on their throat and crown and managed to get a superb shot of a pair. And Oh Boy…was I green with envy when I got home and he proudly showed me the pictures! And I still haven’t got pictures good enough to match the ones he clicked!

Coppersmith Barbets

Coppersmith Barbets

And this is how and when I started noticing birds and got addicted to bird watching!

Few months later…
I was awakened from my slumber by the repeated calls of the Barbet. I hurriedly sat up in bed, opened the window and rubbed the sleep away from my eyes. To my utmost delight and surprise, I saw about ten Coppersmith Barbets flitting about the branches of the Ficus Tree! I quickly grabbed my camera and clicked away excitedly. And here they are as I promised…

Coppersmith Barbet

Coppersmith Barbet

Coppersmith Barbet

Niice Behind! ;-P

Coppersmith Barbet

Coppersmith Barbet

All puffed up to call!

Coppersmith Barbet

Coppersmith Barbet

Coppersmith Barbet

Coppersmith Barbet

Coppersmith Barbet

Coppersmith Barbets

Three in One!

Coppersmith Barbets

Another Hat trick!

Coppersmith Barbet

Coppersmith Barbet

Coppersmith Barbet

Will you quit pointing your lens at me already?

Coppersmith Barbet

9 responses »

  1. I identified my first coppersmith during a morning walk years ago. I was so excited that I couldn’t take my eyes off it. It did not matter that I skipped office that day. I am glad you brougt back this memoy….along with the feelings-fully in tact..

    Kishore

Leave a Reply

